Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, without any qualms, it is accepted that in people's lives consumer commodities turned to become highly essential in people lives. While it is possible to claim that people will become addictive and fall under financial debt. However, as far as I am concerned, both the merits and drawbacks must be pondered upon before concluding which weigh in more worth.

On the one hand, one of the paramount advantage associated with consumer products is it saves a person's time. For instance, people often use a computer to order personals through e-commerce websites from their place, instead of driving to brick-and-mortar stores. As a result, it cut down the unnecessary travelling and saves time. Furthermore, it has a huge transition over humans life and made it more comfortable. For example, in earlier household chores like washing and cleaning requires a lot of human effort, which now can be through washing machines and vacuum-cleaner. Therefore, consumers can reap the benefits of these products.

On the flip side, there are some disadvantages to adopting these commodities. First of all, relying highly on gadgets like smartphones, laptops, PlayStation's would make a person materialistic. Moreover, buying high-end products like 3D television and Smartphones would cost a massive amount of money, and that need to be paid through instalments, which result in unwanted financial debts. Consequently, a person may lose frugality and societies may become dysfunctional.

To conclude, I firmly agree that the merits of the consumer goods on people's daily lives outweigh the drawbacks; where it save people time and provide a convenient lifestyle.