Nowadays many business meetings and training are happening online and not in real offices. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages in this matter?

Technology has impacted every aspect of our life and the way we do study and business are not the exception. Owing to this, many business meeting and trainings nowadays are held online. Now the question arises is whether they are beneficial or not. I am more inclined to the first part that doing they have more advantages than disadvantages due to the flexibility of work and education that it gives to the employees and students.

For one, online information exchanges bring flexibility of work location and time to the individual. Now, if needed, they can also work from home, which not only saves their commutation time but also helps them to spend some more time with their family, thereby, boosting(increasing) their productivity. In India, for example, many IT companies are providing option of working from home to their employees. This could be possible only due to the possibility of meeting and discussions happening over calls. In addition to that, it is extremely useful for business growth as well since people from different geographical locations can now work together as a team. Companies can take advantage of hiring people from different places of globe based on factors such as per capita salary and closeness to client location etc. As these benefits are in interest of many, online business meetings are education are gaining popularity these days.

On the other hand, this trend has few disadvantages as well. Some people argue that they find it difficult to explain or understand(comprehend) the discussions in online meetings. As they believe, it is easy for people to explain everything in better way if meetings are held in person (in case of face-to-face discussions). Furthermore, they believe that sometime voice over phone-calls is not clear or audible. Admittedly, these problems exist but can be easily solved, for instance, by switching to different network provider or having video conference calls.

After looking at both sides, it is believed that advantages of online meetings overweigh its disadvantages. Hence, I believe in future, more and more meetings and trainings would be happening over calls as this would be in benefit to not only the individuals but to the business as well.