Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, a not so common trend has been started wherein most of the people are more inclined towards having their own business instead of being employed. Now the question here is what caused this? It because is they have developed keen interest towards earning more money and become rich at early stage in life. But it may have some negative impact on work life balance as it can easily cause detrimental impact on the person’s well being.

Everyone loves money and living in the materialistic world somehow forces today’s generation to get most of it during their initial working years. This is why men prefer to work by themselves and not for someone else. It not only enables them to have a better lifestyle for them, but also for their kids. Consequently, it provides them with better future, as well as a good place in society. Moreover, it facilitates them with purchase of fixed assets like a house, which is near to impossible because of low income level and inflated property rates. To exemplify, a recent survey by South China Morning Post revealed that people even with 5 figure salary are not able to buy their own home in Hong Kong because of sky touching prices.

Having said that, this practice can cause adverse effects in creating proper balance between an individual’s personal life and work life. Own business generally requires long working hours which can hamper the physical as well as mental health of the owner. Furthermore, it also impacts their relationship with their family, which can have hazardous effect. This in turn, can result badly for them as they won’t be happy and this may also lead them to isolation, ultimately affecting their well being. To illustrate, latest economic times study revealed that people who run their own business normally have bad relationship with their families. They also presented the data in which 78% of them complained about heath related issues and a constant headache.

To conclude, no one can deny the fact that money has been the driving factor due to which people are focusing on getting succeeded by having their own start-up and not being a salaried individual. But the demerits it carries of bad influence on health and imbalance between work and personal life are way too big to ignore and should be looked after.