Nowadays many women are joining the police and military forces. However, some people believe that these jobs are not suitable for women. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Dynamics of society are changing dramatically these days as women are also pursuing their career in defense services. However, it is believed by few individuals that this trend is not appropriate. I support gender equality in employment, and agree that women should be permitted to work in armed forces, and also I would like to shed some light on both views.

To begin with, women should not be sidelined for recruitment in police or armed forces because it would be utterly unfair and unconstitutional for them. In fact, selection for these services should be based on skills, academic background and relevant work-experience. Indian army is the best example of this as it has been recruiting female officers for a long time. Additionally, other qualities are also required in these professionals such as leadership, planning, team-work and communication which are perfectly exhibited by women officers at their respective work-places. For example, an Indian Air-force female officer was given an opportunity to lead all three forces because of her capabilities when USA honorary President Mr. Barack Obama visited New Delhi for the first time in 2016.

On the contrary, it is a general impression that women officers are unable to deal with dreaded criminals; moreover, they even feel uncomfortable during interrogation sessions with serial killers and rapists. For instance, in some countries, female officers have been recruited only for desk-jobs only such as managing documents and filling reports at police stations rather than for core jobs from sometime. Apart from this, they have less physical strength as compared to their male counterparts and due to this key reason, females have negative image in the society and they are not being treated as respectful officers in defense services.

In conclusion, although women are considered to be frail in muscular power and tackling barbarian criminals during interrogation, they have plethora of qualities and skills that are supremely demanding in these services.