Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same

jobs.

What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

People seeking jobs are now facing stiff competition from the young generation. The primary problem this situation cause is the increase in the poverty rate between aged people due to unemployment and the most viable solution is that the government should reserve certain job positions for senior citizens.

Old people these days are not getting enough job opportunities and that results in increasing the poverty rate for many people above the age of 50. In other words, when both old and youngsters apply for the same jobs employers prefer to hire young people because they are highly qualified and may be willing to work in less salary. As a result, aged people are jobless and many of them are getting in poverty. To illustrate, a recent survey conducted by the New York Times revealed that in countries such as the UK the poverty rate among old people has been increased to 20% in the last 10 years.

The possible solution to this predicament is that the states should implement a reservation system for old people. That is to say that, senior citizens often do not have any financial support, and they need employment to earn for their living. Therefore, they should be given equal opportunities to earn and this could solve the problem of poverty to some extent. For example, according to a report by the Guardian, a similar initiative was taken by Japan resulted in a 30% decrease in the poverty rate among old people.

In conclusion, with young and old people, competing together for the same post may lead to an increased poverty rate for aged people and to solve this problem the states should step in and execute a quota system for elderly people.