Nowadays parents are sending their children on a trip abroad for educational purposes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Acquiring knowledge and qualification abroad has become a popular trend today. Many parents send their children to another countries to provide them with better education. In this essay I am going to discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this development.

First of all, people are attracted by education in developed countries because of its high quality. Parents send their children in educational institutions with high prestige in order to give them better opportunities to find their place in this world. Undoubtedly, qualification from famous school or university can be useful for children's future career. Secondly, youngsters can learn foreign languages, culture and traditions on their trip. This experience, obviously, broadens children's minds and makes them open-minded and understanding adults. Finally, living abroad gives children opportunity to become independent, responsible and mature pupils because there is nobody to rely on but only themselves. Indeed, parents behave in the best interest of their children when they send them to another countries' institutions.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of education abroad which should be taken into account. Firstly, acquiring qualification in developed countries cost a huge amount of money. A mere language course in Canada, for example, requires money for visa, flight tickets, hostel, excursions and, of course, course payment. This trip can be unaffordable for some families and they take out a loan. In addition, children can face difficulties because of the different language of communication and education. Not only does the another language cause problems, but also unfamiliar culture and traditions can cause stress and feeling of loneliness. Many pupils miss their families and experience negative emotions. In fact, expensiveness of an educational trip and caused stress should be considered by parents when they are going to send their children abroad.

In conclusion, popular trend to educate children abroad can be beneficial for both children and their family. However, parents should make allowance for their finance situation and children's mental health in this situation.