Nowadays people’s life is changing rapidly and, as a result, family relationships are affected.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

We live in a life which is constantly transforming due to the advents of science and technology and in turn, we are also modifying our lifestyle, cultures, traditions and family systems. Owing to the proliferation in modernity, relationship bonds are becoming weaker. In my opinion, the detrimental effects of modern lifestyle far more than its benefits.

To embark on, the age of the 21st century is changing at a higher pace, leading to numerous egregious impacts. Firstly, modern life has become fast and over-demanding which obligates an individual to work for extra hours. Due to this, little time is spent with the family and friends which generally creates distance between them. Secondly, in order to fulfil the economic and financial requirements of the family, both the parents have to work, as a result, they opt day-cares or maids to provide assistance to their offsprings. To exemplify, according to a report by the childcare association of India, there is a 20% increase in the number of children in day-boardings from last 10 years.

Thirdly, the size of the families is reducing with time in comparison with the past. The modern approach of nuclear and single-family is followed by every individual which is a drastic step towards the isolation. Further, the lack of elderly support and guidance in the family can lead to the loss of ethics and values. For instance, a survey conducted by The Hindu revealed that 40% of the juvenile related crimes are done by children from nuclear families, due to little family attention. Thus, it is necessary to measure the repercussions before attempting any new change.

In conclusion, although technological developments are making a life of people modern and digital, in my opinion, these changes are creating generation gaps, isolation and lack of understanding among the family relations. Therefore, considering the harmful effects of modern changes some stringent steps need to taken by every individual to protect personal relationships.