It is a fact that more families these days have electronic households such freezers, vacuum cleaner, hair dryer, room heater, water heater and laundry machines than ever before. This trend has some positive and negative aspects but I personally believe that it has more disadvantages than advantages and this is due to the environmental damage they cause.

It is noticed that the number of families that have consumer goods at their home has increased rapidly in the past few years. The main reason behind this trend is because of people’s busy lifestyle. They have less time to do their household activities and therefore they are relying on their electronic devices. For example, city people who are busy with their works are relying on their microwave oven and cooker for preparing their meals. The oven could be utilised for preparing instant food which would save some time for them. Therefore, some people believe that the existence of electronic household devices brings a lot of benefits for them.

On the other hand, another group of people believe that it is not a good trend because they think that these devices could have some negative effects on the human body. For instance, devices such as microwave ovens or refrigerators produce radiation that could result a serious threat to the human body. In such cases, the usage of microwave oven has triggered serious diseases such as tumour and cancer. Another example would be about the usage of CFC as it is used in electronic products such as air conditioner and freezer. Many people do not realise that the usage of CFC has a fatal effect on the environment, as it triggers global warming. No doubt the modern electronic devices that we use daily have made our life easier and brought many luxuries in our life but the damages those devices cause is a big threat in our existence.

In conclusion, it is true that the number of people who own electronic household devices has grown significantly in the past few years. In spite of all the benefits, I personally believe that it has more drawbacks for our life, as these electronic products could have some serious effects on our body and the environment as well.