Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone and safety cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has successfully touched wider aspects of human life, knowingly or unknowingly. These days, people are being constantly watched over by gadgets like CCTV cameras or are easily located through GPS system. Most of the times they are ignorant of the above mentioned fact. In my opinion, this notion is certainly more advantageous as it helps in the decline of crime rate as compared to its disadvantages which carries the reason of hampering individual’s privacy and may end up bringing more cases of cyber crime.

Talking about positives first, installation of safety devices like security cameras on streets or lanes, and fixation of tracking devices in cars or vehicles have instilled a sense of fear of being caught by authorities in individuals. This not only has helped the police to catch up over criminals, but has also reduced the incidences of felony. To exemplify, a survey conducted by patrolling department revealed an 8% decrease in theft cases after installation of tracing devices in north-west region of Delhi. Consequently, it has secured the life of working women. Henceforth, proving to be meritorious, the newer surveillance schemes have somehow brought social security in people, which in itself is an important aspect of national development.

Coming to the drawbacks, the influx in this automation era, which consists of readily available information and ideas all over the internet, has given birth to a different kind of atrocity, that is cyber crime, which did not existed in yester years. Mischievous minds have paved a smarter way of committing unlawful acts through hacking into tracking and recording systems. Additionally, these devices have damaged the private life of citizens. They no longer feel good in showing in showing emotions or engaging freely in activities in public places. To illustrate, a small town in Venice has questioned their regime over the putting up of additional cameras in public gardens and theatres, which in turn has made them uncomfortable with respect to their privacy. As a result, natives found themselves more stressed instead of relaxed in such tourist attractions.

In conclusion, a constant check over man with the help of automated devices like cellphones have surged more as compare to in past. It definitely has proved to be of much help in bringing down the criminal records and making nations a safer place to love in than any number of disadvantages. Yet, countrymen challenge the government over disruptions in their privacy and eventually being bait to internet crime.