Nowadays, teenagers are found to be using drugs either the prescribed ones or the illegal. This essay will enlighten some of the possible reasons behind this growing trend and also present feasible solutions.

Possibly, the problem seems to stem from the urge to enjoy life. As adolescence consider drug abuse as alternate for excitement which lighten their senses providing them with the opportunity to experience new scenarios; whether its legal, for instance anti-depressants like Xenax, or the illegal drugs like marijuana, both serves this purpose. Another cause might be the involvement of young generation with bad company indulging them in these activities while presenting this one may call as cool. Most of these young addicts could be linked with small street criminals as per the report provided by the US Department of Child Care.

Turning toward the viable solutions, young ones need to be involved in exciting activities. Parents and educational institutions both can arrange opportunities for provision of joy, for example, sports tournaments and trips to new places. This culture can also be minimized by proper awareness and counselling. For this purpose, from the early age, instead of avoiding this topic, parents should discuss this with the young so that they could understand the detrimental effects it causes. Secondly, schools should arrange seminars showing abusers stories and strict laws should be practiced leading towards the fear of involvement restricting them from these cases.

In conclusion, while excitement and bad influence could be the possible reasons in triggering this culture, initiatives taken by schools and parents can help eradicate this.