Today, technology has created a new way for people in communicating with each other. In my opinion, this has become negative development because the drawback of the situation exceed its benefit.

On the one hand, technology has helped people in distance to communicate easily. If previously people in distance could only communicate through letters, which arrived in a long time, today people can interact through social media applications. As a result, feeling such as homesickness and lonesome can be treated by the existence of technology inventions. For example, Rob goes to a college which is located far away from his hometown. Because currently there are a lot of social media applications, Rob can still communicate with their parents who live in his hometown.

On the other hand, the existence of technology has made relationship to be cold and not genuine. The new technology inventions such as social media application has made people to connect and befriend easily with their own social media profiles. Sadly, this does not reflect the real relationship of someone with other people. Even though their social media profiles are linked each other, but they are often actually distant in real life. For example, the number of friends in the social media applications do not reflect the real friends that someone has. As a result, so many people feel lonely and depressed in this modern era, even though they have so many friends in social media applications.

In conclusion, the way technology changed people's way in communicating with each other has led into negative development because even though it helped people in distance to communicate easily, but it has made relationship to be cold and not genuine, which affect the mental health of many people today.