Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Recently, I read an article about the prevalence of throwaway society. The author highlights many factors for it, but in this essay, I will discuss the main reasons and suggest some possible solutions.

Let us start with the reasons why human beings are generating much refuse. The first reason is that most citizens have low self-discipline. Many residents have developed the habits inherent to throwaway society, where people consume everything with the carelessness to the environment. Another reason is that fines for littering no longer correspond to the damage. People tend to ignore laws, which are designed to protect the environment from dumping garbage, because the punishment is negligibly low. Furthermore, it happens due to widespread use of disposable packaging. The majority of city dwellers cannot image their lives without purchasing and keeping products in plastic bags, so they intensively use and get rid of them in household.

However, people can deal with the disposal of garbage by adopting the following measures. Firstly, authorities should increase relevant fines. Both to compensate the damage to the environment and deter people from dumping rubbish, officials should toughen the legislation regarding littering. Secondly, it can launch clean-up campaigns in society. To eliminate the existing throwaway society, authorities should show the importance of preserving nature by encouraging people to clean the streets of rubbish and stop leaving rubbish in cities. Moreover, it should encourage people to switch to the use of reusable packaging. Governments should discourage citizens from the use of plastic bags and show the benefits of using reusable bags, so that people will quit the habit of using disposable packaging.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons why people throw more garbage, it is possible to tackle this problem by taking the above mentioned measures.