Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects on themselves and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a tendency that more and more youngsters spend their leisure time in modern shopping malls. Some people argue that this trend does not have a good impact to neither themselves nor their local society. Basically, while shopping malls are not the ideal places to invest people’s free time, I disagree with the idea that spending too much time in these malls is delivering negative effects.

There are no reasons to stop young people from spending too much their time staying in shopping malls. In fact, it is better for the society when individuals gather in one place to shop or relax after work or study. Since more youngsters are willing to stay inside of the malls, the outdoor environment of their local area will be much clearer which is better for other people who like refreshing atmosphere. Furthermore, people can also register to run their businesses in the malls which provide better security and save a big amount of time travelling to work. For example, before two biggest malls in district 7 in Ho Chi Minh City were built, local retailers in the area had had to put their shops in district 1 or 3 which consumed a lot of time to commute from their houses.

However, it is still such a waste of time when young people staying too long inside of these shopping malls. With their leisure time, they can participate in activities that contribute to their own community such as picking up garbage on the streets or helping the elders in the neighborhood. Moreover, by contributing to their local society, youngsters can have more chances to meet other people which help them develop their social skills.

In conclusion, although it is not recommended to spend too much time in shopping malls, I do not believe that doing this will have negative effects on people and their society.