the number of people who are fat and overweight is much higher than in previous generations. What are the reasons? What can be to solve those problems?

The number of people who are suffering from obesity is constantly increasing in many parts around the world. This essay will outline some reasons associated with the issue and a number of solutions that can be taken into account to address it.

There are a host of reasons for this tendency. One of the main reasons is that a significant amount of blame can be given to poor diet combined with the marketing of unhealthy food toward young people. Young people’s diets often consist of junk food, such as potato chips and candy, which is not only low in nutrients but also high in calories. This dietary issue is also complicated by the fact that these kinds of food plus the recent boom in fast-food restaurants and chains have fascinated people to eat at these establishments rather than cooking healthy meals at home. Another reason is a sedentary lifestyle. The young generation in the modern world tends to lead lives that are shockingly inactive compared to their predecessors. Much of their time is spent sitting in front of a screen, whether it be television, a computer, or a smartphone. Furthermore, preparing food themselves daily can be impossible for many people as they have a tight schedule of work on weekdays, therefore, ready-to-eat meals and junk food becomes their choice of food, which they tend to lose in nutrients. Consumption of these types of food in the long-term could lead to various health issues such as heart disease, diabetes, and obesity.

However, in order to deal with the issue, there are some practical measures that should be taken into consideration. One of the applicable measures is through concerted action by parents and governments, this worrying situation can be stopped if these measures are taken carefully. In terms of diet, parents need to play a greater role in controlling what their children eat. For the government’s part, they should increase investment in nutrition promotion and educational programs to raise awareness of the public on the importance of being healthy. For instance, running a campaign to encourage people to cook food themselves instead of dependent on fast food, which homes cooked meals contain more balanced in nutrients than processed food. Another possible measure is parents need to make a greater attempt to ensure their children are getting enough exercise daily, while the governments should allocate more budgets to building facilities that are accessible to ensure the healthy lifestyle of citizens. For example, build more public gyms and parks. People will be more aware to exercise when they have time.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various problems with this issue and several approaches should be adopted to tackle it.