Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. Discuss ways to solve the problem. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is an undeniable fact that the world today is facing a huge challenge related to obesity, especially among the younger generation. Both, the developed as well as developing countries have been recording a steady upsurge of over-weight people. This negative development is adversely affecting the health of the society, and therefore need to be addressed immediately by the government and the citizens before it is too late.

There are numerous measures that can be taken to alleviate the problems related to obesity. Public awareness, firstly, is the most obvious step to encounter this problem. People need to understand the importance of being fit and the negative implications of excessive weight on the health. They must be aware of the ways and means to reduce the weight. Schools and universities, furthermore, must include a mandatory subject as part of their curriculum detailing out the importance of fitness and the ways to achieve it.

Additional taxes, secondly, must be imposed on junk foods and carbonated drinks that do nothing other than acting as a catalyst in putting-up the weight. Therefore, imposing strict food regulations and inflating the prices might also be a quick solution. Fitness centers and amusement parks, thirdly, must also be easily accessible to the middle-class and lower-class people who cannot afford expensive memberships. Government authorities, must sanction additional budget for construction of new health centers and fitness parks. In this way, the people can access them easily and focus on their fitness for free. Above all, public service advertisements and awareness must be nurtured among the people to use bicycles or walk instead of using private cares to travel for work. This way, they can lose some weight, stay active, and fit.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that the obesity is a silent killer and has had devastating impact on the health of our society. Therefore, it is high time for the people and the government to understand the gravity of the situation and take proactive measures to deal with this pernicious problem.