One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

With the technological advancements and the use of modern facilities the medical care has advanced increasing the life span of the people. Although, they share with the community their knowledge and life experiences which in turn leads to development, they put a pressure on the family and economy of the society. In my opinion, with the enhancement in healthcare facilities more benefits are provided to the world which will be discussed further in this essay

With the refinement in the medical amenities people will live prolonged and healthy life as it will provide remedy to almost all the ailments in the world. Moreover, the society will have older people who have more knowledge and exposure which they can gift to humanity. For example, many professors, researchers, writers and scientist can impart their life experiences, expertise and knowledge with younger generation. Furthermore, these are an asset to the companies as they are enriched with erudition, skills and experiences which will help in the growth and expansion of the organisation

On the contrary, there are some drawbacks associated with the increase in the life span of the humankind due to the advance medical treatment. The old generation are a burden on the society as they are more prone to health care treatments and diseases. This will put a pressure on the government of the country as they will have to spend more money on medical equipment’s, medicine and health care rehabilitation. For example, there is a financial burden Countries like Japan to cure and heal the diseases of the elderly people of the society. Moreover, they will have to hire more doctors and nurses which means more money will be disposed off as they salaries. Furthermore, the senior citizens put a pressure on the family as they will have to spend more time on taking care of them apart from doing jobs.

To conclude, older generations are not a burden instead, they are contributing actively in the community by enlightening us with their knowledge, skills and life time achievements.