One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no deny that today's the living age of humans has significantly increased which has been made possible because of great advances in medical science. I believe this has more drawbacks than benefits.

One of the major drawback due to increased life expectancy is that the retirement age will be more than today. To illustrate, today people retire at 60 years of age. However, if retirement age is higher there would be unemployment for young professionals. Secondly, to that earth has limited resource and if the average population of people living will be more than earth will not be able to sustain all living people. In addition, to that elderly people are receiving welfare programs and pension benefits and individuals who are working have to pay higher taxes to support the retired people. Hence, having prolonged life would have more detrimental effect in slowing the economy.

Despite there are multifarious advantages of having longer lifespan. As for individuals, longevity aids in spending more time with their family and enjoy their life to fullest. In term's of society benefits, longer lifespan allows people contribute more to the world with their talent and wisdom. Many talented scientist and scholars would be able to research and invent further in their fields. Therefore, having longer lifespan will be add more values in terms of innovation and growth to the planet.

In conclusion, although there are few positives of live longer. In my opinion, the negatives far outweigh positive consequences due to poor life quality of elderly people and high government expenses connected with paying welfare to retired persons.