News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

There is no deny that people follow and engage in news stories through various medium of communication. Members of the public are more inclined towards latest news which have visuals present in them. I would rather be assertive of any updates on news before engaging in the story as their is significant possibility of the graphical images to be faltered even if they are incredibly pleasing regardless whether they are on television or print media.

The first point worth making is that pictures do capture the imagination of the consumer of the news which could be on the tube or on in the newspaper which plain text of words cannot. Images do have a way of presenting clear, detailed and descriptive news. Another point to take into consideration is that they save time & lessen the mental effort required to read or view the complete news article. Finally, graphical content is visually more appealing than block of textual content.

On the other hand, there are multifarious ramifications in real world because of graphical news. It is awfully common that pictures do not always describe the entire story and this could lead to information being misinterpreted. Graphics and videos are often doctored to manipulate the truth and influence the minds of common news consumer. For instance, in India because of fake news the issue of mob-lynching have been seen trending in past few years.

To sum it up, it would be unwise to speculate that pictures communicate information less effectively than text. Whilst, I opine that whether text or graphical news even if they are visual masterpieces, should not be trusted at face-value and average viewers need to do more scouting before making any assertion.