Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affects teenager’s behavior? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Throughout the last decade, online shopping has increased intensely which has both merits and demerits that hugely impact on teenager's behavior.

Nowadays, people’s lives are busier than that in the past, they do not spend time on going shopping anymore. Instead, people prefer online shopping which has become popular in the past few years because of its convenient, time efficiency, the diversity of products and so on. People now can purchase almost everything while staying at home. Online shopping is also a choice for those teenagers who want to have a part-time job but do not feel like leaving their houses.

Convenient as it might be, online shopping also has numerous of drawbacks. One of the most undoubtedly effects of online shopping is the teenagers' behavior. According to researches adolescences are the major proportion of internet users. They often form their judgments and make decisions based on not only their evaluation but also others. Young shoppers motivated by social interaction and hedonic benefits may seem e-shopping as a enjoyment rather than a task that needs to be completed. As a result, online shopping provides youngsters with an experience of an escape. An escape from the negativity of the society, from all the stresses from school and the anxiety from toxic relationships. Online shopping could be addictive to teenagers. They are likely to spend all their time and money on shopping. They surf the internet, go to inviting pages, buy things,…,gradually, their addiction will become gigantic, they will eventually disconnect themselves to the world.

To sum up, online shopping has both negative and positive impacts on teenagers’ behavior.