In order to study at the university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free to everyone. To what extent do u agree or disagree.

A prerequisite requirement for university admission these days is tuition fees which are quite exorbitant for some students .Some people have argued that these fees ought to be free for all students. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement because of the long term benefits of free education in the society. The reasons for my opinion are explained in this article.

Firstly, a good reason for scrapping fees is that it gives poor people an equal right to education. In other words, free tuition affords people from low-income homes an opportunity to get educated which would increase their chances of securing good jobs in future. For example, Libya operates a free education policy for its citizens and this has led to a highly skilled populace .

Secondly, a tuition free education affords people choice of pursuing fields deemed unaffordable. There is usually a low application rate for research based courses due to the cost implication involved. Substantial amounts are required for equipment, practical and experiments. For example, students in Nigeria are discouraged from applying for alternative energy and aerodynamic course due to the cost of studying them. This has led to a Shortage of skilled workers in those industries.

Finally, students would be able to fully concentrate on studies as against being worried about school fees and expenses. They are known to work during off schools hours in an attempt to raised funds for their studies. For instance, In Nigeria some student take up menial jobs which affects study time.

In conclusion, policy makers should make education free because it affords students from poor homes an education, encourages people to study expensive courses but valuable and focus on their studies .