It is undeniable that population has been increasing rapidly in developed cities. Many nations around the world are facing multiple issues due to this situation. There are several reasons for this, but certain measures could be taken to alleviate this problem.

There are number of causes for such a steep rise in these cities. The main cause of this problem is advanced technology and the vast opportunities offered to many. People who live in rural areas want to stay abreast with changing times and wish to seek better job opportunities with higher pay packages. For instance, metropolitan cities are highly competitive and due to inflation they usually offer higher remuneration when compared to villages. Also, these cities have better medical facilities and infrastructure. Nowadays, people definitely prefer living in better conditions and lifestyle. Therefore, they migrate from their place in search of such living conditions and opportunities. Moreover, such cities have better education system. Due to this, families move to such locations where their kids benefit for their future endeavors. Hence, if we look from the point of individual's perspective, they are definitely gaining via this shift. However, if we look from the point of global perspective, this move is leading to social imbalance and causing a major problem.

Various courses of action could be taken to tackle the above. In the first place, governments around the world could set aside a budget to refurbish such rural areas and develop better facilities like schools, hospitals etc so that there is no inherent need to move to another location in search of better facilities. Also, they could bring awareness among people through nationwide campaigns and encourage people to live in their own areas with certain incentives. For example, if children buying their first property near their parent's house they will be eligible for government grants. This in turn will be a big carrot for the first time owners to stay and reside nearby rather than looking to move out of their place.

In conclusion, various factors have led to overpopulation in metropolitan cities, but this situation could be addressed by governments intervention with development of rural areas and with certain incentives to be offered to the younger generation living in such areas. Given this situations, steps should be taken immediately to maintain socio-cultural equilibrium.