Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Developed cities, nowadays, are attracting more and more people to live there. This is causing overpopulation in urban areas and over the world. This essay will not only discuss the major reasons behind this trend but also the remedies to curb this problem.

To begin with, firstly, the major reason for overpopulation in urban areas is that these areas provide multifarious facilities such as hospitals, entertainment sources and also are the hub of elite education. Owing to this, people like to live in urban areas as compared to the countryside. Secondly, educated people are being benefited from private companies. These multinational companies not only offer them dream jobs to them according to their qualification, but also provides them with a handsome salary along with benefits of cheap accommodation. Consequently, people are like to switch from rural areas to developed cities to secure their future as well as their children's. For instance, According to a survey conducted by Cambridge University, 65% of people think that if they would bring up their children in big cities, then they will get more opportunities to build their future as compared to less developed areas. Therefore, the population rate in urban areas is increasing day by day.

Although the government cannot force people to live in the countryside, some solutions can be provided to curb the problem of overpopulation in urban areas. First, the authorities should encourage private companies to establish their business in rural areas to provide employment to local people. Secondly, official authorities along with improving their education system in undeveloped areas, they should offer subsidies on agricultural activities to promote the interest of people in this field. For example, the government of Canada currently distributes much free agricultural equipment to help farmers. Moreover, they have opened various international schools to serve quality education to rural children. Consequently, people would like to live in their own rural areas. By doing so, the population of urban areas will be reduced.

In conclusion, although, people migrate from undeveloped areas to developed areas to fulfil their dreams and to secure their future, still this worrying issue can be tackled by the government by applying various measures such as motivate private companies to establish their companies in rural areas and also by opening new educational institutes to provide similar education as urban areas.