OVERPOPULATION in many major URBAN centres around the world is a major problem.

What are the causes of this?

How can this problem be solved?

Owing to the surge in urbanization, more and more people from rural areas are relocating to cities, making them over-populated. The reasons for this global concern are unavailability of modern education and job facilities in the countryside. However, the development of educational institutes and multinational companies in these parts can curb this problem.

To embark on, the crucial factor for the proliferation in the number of people in towns is that the undeveloped parts of the countries such as villages lack the basic necessities. Primarily, they do not consist of higher academic institutions, because of which students are obliged to move to developed cities in order to acquire better education. Another reason is that there is no availability of corporates and industries where an individual can find employment, thus forcing them to migrate to cities in order to avail superior career opportunities. For instance, the development report by the government of India provided that there is a 20% increase in the migration of rural families to metropolitan areas from the last year which clearly signifies the growth of population in urban localities.

To alleviate this problem certain measures are required to be taken by authorities. Firstly, the development of schools for secondary and universities for tertiary education can provide the opportunity for students to gain quality learning at their native grounds, thereby reducing their urgency to travel to other places for studies. Secondly, establishing multi-sector companies for employment in the countrysides can minimize the countryside migration in search of a job, consequently, can solve the situation of overpopulation in urban areas. For example, to combat the issue of the increasing number of people in Delhi the governs developed the regional places of Gurgaon and Noida by introducing metros and multinational companies which distributed Delhi's population equally to these regions.

In conclusion, although overpopulation is a serious issue in urban regions due to the migration of people from undeveloped sites for attaining profession and studies, with the effective measures by the government to provide modern facilities for career and academics can resolve this menace.