Without CAPITAL PUNISHMENT (the death penalty) our LIVES ARE LESS SECURE and CRIMES of

violence INCREASE. Capital punishment is ESSENTIAL to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Owing to the surge in the rate of criminal activities, enactment of death penalties have become quintessential. The presence of this law provides security to citizens and reduces crimes, I completely support this notion as this not only generates fear among criminals but also abolishes the roots of crime from society.

To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons to support my view that capital punishment is necessary for punishing brutal offenders. Firstly, this strict penalty generates extreme fear which threatens the un-ethical people to commit delinquencies. This is because the thought of death and harsh imprisonment life filled them with dread, thereby distancing them from the serious offences of murder and rape. For instance, after the announcement of death penalties for the accusers in the Nirbhaya's murder case in India, a 40% decline in the rate of rape incidents has been observed. Alternatively, if there is no such rule, then criminals will not hesitate to commit crime even in public, thus, producing terror in the lives of the general public.

Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the factor that with the help of this stringent rule the origin from where crime generates gets abolished. The reason for this is the major criminal activities such as terrorist attacks, gang rapes and murders usually involves a chain of criminals who accomplish these delinquencies in criminal-groups. For example, with the death penalty of Kasab an accuser for the Mumbai attacks, the major terror group Jaish got destroyed. Therefore, destroying the main heads of these chains will automatically hinder others from committing the crime, consequently, reducing the number of the crime rate.

In conclusion, it can be stated that for providing security and non-violent environment to the citizens, the law of capital punishment is extremely important. I perceive, it threatens the criminals and destroys the origins of crimes leading to the reduction in offences and spread of prosperity.