The ownership of car should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Due to problem of traffic congestion and environment pollution, there should be one car for each house, I completely agree with this. These days due to easily available finance option with relaxed criteria thorough banks as well as installment plans offered by car dealerships have enabled households to buy multiple vehicles. However, because infrastructure & road network has limited capacity and this has increased number of problems.

Traffic congestion is a problem faced by almost every person driving an automobile. Due to number of vehicles available in each family, every person of the family moves around in their own car even if they are to go to same place. We notice that number of vehicles are moving around with just single passenger. As road network has a limited capacity, this increases traffic on road. Routes are being choked during rush hours of mornings & evenings when people are travelling to & fro from their workplaces respectively.

Another problem is environment pollution. With each car, there is more use of fuel & thus more combustion which in turns results in increased emission of dangerous gases in environment. Notable gases among those are carbon monoxide (CO) which is very dangerous. These gases contaminate the air humans breathe in and thus this results in not just environment pollution but deteriorated health of living beings as well.

The best way to overcome this problem is through restrictions of owning one vehicle for each household. Carpooling is very common these days where people going to same place share vehicle. They can do so instead of travelling in individual cars. Besides carpooling, people can use public transport, it will not only help financially troubled public transport sector but will also create a competition which in turn will improve quality of these vehicles as well.