Parents think that using computers or tablets will help children’s future academic career. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

These days' many schools are attending to use computers or tablets in studying, that's why parents believe that this style will assist their children's future academic career. Utilizing computers or tablets have advantages and disadvantages.

For several reasons, parents think that technology had advantages and will facilitate their children's way of education. First, in education computers will help students to use the internet and encourage them to do more research and know about the latest technologies and what is going around. Second, using online dictionary will help them to be familiar with new vocabulary words, to improve their language skills. However, parents prefer using computers to watch online videos and where they can learn from and memorize words and learn accent of their native language. For example, international schools in my country started to use e-books instead of hard books, where their students will be close with their new education system.

On the other hand, several parents believe that using computers or tablets has some disadvantages. First, scientifically if kids watching or looking over the screen for many hours, the light reflection will harm their eyes and let them wear eyeglasses at early ages. Second, the number of publishing will decrease, children won't look over books or magazines to do their studies research, only by one click through internet they will find all the answers and solutions they need. However, children will rely on easier ways to finish their studies, this will limit their thinking and knowledge. For example, during my master’s studies at RMIT University we used to reach Google Scholar website, where we could find millions of libraries and solutions which assisted us in our tasks.

As a conclusion, there is two type of parents which have two different opinions against using computer or tablets, some believe there are advantages from using it others think the opposite. In my opinion, we cannot stop technology these days, but it will impact negatively on our abilities and dominate our school and university studies.