People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

You should give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

The purpose of education varies from person to person as it is always difficult to figure out the exact reason. University education, which always paves the way to have a good job. In my opinion, there are three reasons for the general people to go to colleges or universities.

One of the cardinal reason is that the opportunity to develop expertise in a particular field of knowledge. At the high school, a pupil has to study a lot of subjects without special concentration on particular subject. So, after completing this level, interested people are attracted to get into higher education.

The second reason is hidden in basic human instinct. When a person sees that his/her friend is going to start higher education then it attracts him/her much. Apart from this, they are also motivated by their well-wishers to get admit into colleges or university because of the extensive demand of this level’s degrees.

Thirdly, for some occupation university based education is important. For example, to become a lecturer, it is necessary to have PhD and it can be obtained only from tertiary level education. Besides, to join in the profession like researcher, it is good to have research based education which is not possible to get before undergraduate.

Equally, people’s views regarding education have changed in many ways. Many companies are advertising more jobs for the bachelor degree holders, in some cases, it is extended to master’s degree as well. This is not a bad sign but the indication of the acceptance of higher studies.

In conclusion, it is hard to determine the purpose of higher education but before getting involved in this level, it is important to think about it wisely and then pursue this level. I, also, believe that having higher education is always necessary for not only having a bright future but also to enlighten oneself.