People living in the 21st century generally have a better quality of lives than people born in earlier centuries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the questions that have occupied many minds is that whether people in our era have a better quality of life than older generations. While many people, including myself, are in favor of the viewpoint that our lives have improved in almost all respects compared to those who came before us in past centuries, others believe the contrary. In this essay, my position on the subject is briefly discussed.

The defenders of the older lifestyle argue that quality of life in past centuries was by far superior to our time. They say older generations had a healthier life due to their healthy food diet. Moreover, air and land pollution which is one of the scourges of today’s world was not an issue back then. Another convincing reason for their side of the debate is that people in communities were closer to each other than today because they had to interact with each other on daily bases due to lack of modern marvels such as online social media.

On the other hand, we cannot disregard the advantages that are unique to this century. Firstly, the advancement of technology, especially in medical science has improved the life expectancy and modern treatments ensure the masses a faster recovery time. Secondly, living in the 21st century is more convenient, and with the advent and development of modern lifestyle, it is more comfortable. Internet and online shopping, development of transportation and telecommunication are a few concepts that I believe improved the quality of life these days and allows our generation and the posterity to live a better life than our ancestors. People can communicate with each other from thousands of miles away or travel the distance in a matter of hours, which to the contrast of opposition’s view, brings people closer to each other ever than before.

To conclude, while two different opinions on this subject exist, based on the points mentioned above, I believe the quality of life in present times (21st century) is much higher than past centuries.