People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novel and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that it is meaningless for students to study literature, which can be mentioned as novel and poems, in high school levels. From my point of view, I prefer to choose a counter approach to this idea.

One reason why I disagree is that what have been taught in literature classes may support students in practical purposes. The capability of writing and analysis profoundly gives high school graduates a tremendous advantage to get a solid foothold in future application and graduation thesis. In addition, being exposed frequently to novels underlie an effective communication in daily life. For instance, thanks to literature, students now can obtain competently reading and debating skills which is fundamental in the social media era.

Another reason why literature is a noteworthy subject for high school students is that it helps nurture souls. By providing moral lessons through different kinds of outstanding poetry and novels, literature provide students many aspects of views of life, as well as instill a sense of empathy to the characters built in the story. Every literary work always has a message behind, students are encouraged to be receptive to those meanings to master civic skills, be a good citizen. Moreover, learning literature is an effective way to preserve traditional values. Stories are a part of every culture, and they allow us to pass traditions and values from one generation to the next. That is why students should attend literature classes regularly.

In conclusion, for all reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that learning literature is extremely crucial for high school students to have greater understanding about the world, especially in the digital revolution.