In Today's competitive world it is expected more of an individual to deliver tasks faster, many a time require individuals to stay back beyond the fixed hours just to deliver what has been asked of them and this majorly affects the work-life balance, leading to frustration amongst the individuals after a certain time. Hence it is always better, that people work for a fixed number of hours per week.

When I see my colleagues working late or if I have to work beyond those said hours, it is usually because of the tasks not being planned or prioritized or there are new tasks that get delegated by leaders who are seated higher in the corporate ladder. This does not show an impact right away. People who have families are the first ones to get hit as work starts to eat up their family time on the other hand singles who do not have a family do not suffer immediately, in fact, they show signs of frustration over a period of time.

It is not only the frustration of missing out on lone time or family time, but it is also the time that your mind and body need to reset. It is your rest time. Working more hours can also lead to stress and that can have an adverse effect on health. We all know stress is the major reason for many diseases including migraine, weight gain to even heart attack in many cases.

I once had a colleague, who loved working. He never looked stressed at work. He was the first to come to office and last to leave. We always wondered if he had no family or if he was so alone that he loved spending time at work than with his family and friends. One day he just passed away at his desk. This is just to share that working too hard is not always beneficial.

There are also cases where people just sit in the office late hours just to show they are working but in reality, they are browsing senselessly. They are the ones who add to the youtube hits using the companies resources. Today many employers have made it a point that nobody stays beyond a certain number of hours. This not only helps them save resources but also trying to maintain the work-life balance of individuals. Hence it is important to work only for the fixed number of hours and it is a bigger responsibility of the employers to make sure their employees adhere to this and have a happy & healthy balanced life.