People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on individual and on society?

Going by the recent studies conducted by medical councils of different countries, it is ascertained that people are more sleep-deprived than in the past. There are many factors that contribute to sleeplessness and this disruption of the circadian rhythm has detrimental effects on one’s health and humanity as a whole.

Increasing competition and stress levels at the workplace have constrained people to take enough rest. They hardly appraise the consequences of strains they are inadvertently putting on their minds and bodies. People are falling ill and their health is deteriorating, day by day. They are under the wrong impression that sleeping less and working more will contribute to better efficiency, but it turns out to be the other way around.

Watching late-night TV shows and spending more time to browse through the internet and social media also contributes to sleep apnea. The younger generation is getting addicted to the bane of technology called ‘world-wide-web’. They chat with friends until the wee hours and watch useless and often misleading information on their gadgets, hence leaving less time for their minds and body organs to rejuvenate and repair. It is established that improper sleeping patterns adversely affect concentration levels in the unsuspecting populace.

In the end, I would like to phrase that “Healthy People makes Healthy Society” and this restlessness is diversely affecting the health of an individual and the society as a whole. “Early to bed and early to rise makes a person healthy, wealthy and wise”. If one is not healthy and wealthy, how will he be able to constructively contribute to the betterment of the society?