Poor Students or students who come from rural areas often find it is difficult to get access to the university education, so some people think universities should make it easier for them to study at. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern educational ecosystem its almost impossible for economically weaker class students to get an access to graduation courses at the universities. Many individuals feel that universities should take steps to ease out situation for such students . This writing partially agrees with this statement and facts are further reviewed in this essay.

India in contemporary times has become an expensive place to live in. Education for instance which is the basic right in modern economies has become a commodity , with an access to only a few who can effort it. Researches in India have shown that almost 70% of students who get top notch positions in higher secondary exams are from villages or from economically weaker sections of society and hardly 10% of these students make it to the graduation level. We can see here that only a handful of deserving students make it to the graduation schools and rest all are drop outs from education system which is indeed a great loss of talent and definitely calls for some action from the government for reservations for economically backward section as well as rural area pupil.

On the other side, there needs to be a delicate balance on the reservations in the admissions process for Universities. For instance in the current scenario with all the reservations that Indian system has only 10% seats are available for Open category boys . Due to this scenario many non deserving candidates would reach out to prestigious colleges owing to their reservation quotas and would actually struggle and may leave the course mid way and finally waste the seat that could accommodate a deserving candidate. So its indeed vital to keep a check on reservation quotas at universities.

To conclude this I pen down by saying that reservations for deserving economically backward students is a awesome gesture that needs to be seriously implemented however , there needs to be a delicate balance here.

Reservation should only be a small percentage otherwise many non deserving students from economically backward will consume seats of deserving candidates.