Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventing measures.

To what extent do you agree.

Many believe that, it is always better to take preventive measures than to invite illness and then treating it, because, otherwise, government needs to spend a great amount of money in research and development of medicines and also to provide better treatment to the citizens. I agree to this, but advancement in medical science cannot be neglected.

On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the government budget on pharmaceutical and surgical interventions is beneficial for society. Many modern day diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, and cancer are caused by lifestyle choices, like smoking, excessive dietary fat and sugar, and a lack of physical excise. For example, a survey shows that about 95% of people who caused cancer and heart disease had a habit of smoking. It is undeniable that the cost involved in the treatment of these diseases is very high, and also the cause for this medical condition is unclear. This leads to the conclusion that it is necessary to take preventive action.

Taking the necessary preventive various actions is important. For one, the government could provide more and more health and fitness Centre’s and spread public awareness camp to encourage people to use them. In addition to this, adding an additional tax on sugary drinks and processed foods, and also special taxes on tobacco products to discourage their use. I believe that measures such as these will in long term dramatically reduce the incidence of certain deadly diseases.

To conclude, however, it is not necessary that all the modern diseases are preventable or predictable, and it is critical to maintain research into cures for all diseases. Thus, it is important to countries to spend on treatment to preventative measures, in fact there should be a balanced approach which will extend lifespans and maximize the quality of life.