The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicines. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Health problems among people have multiplied over the years. It is argued that government sparing enough funds to tackle them before it effects is more effective than remedying it, I agree to this statement. This essay will discuss the different methods that could be employed in the battle against diseases.

To begin with, there is ample evidence that onus of Promotion and creating awareness among people about the risk of encountering problems in their life span is on government. The central reason for this, it allows people to be conscious of the ailment and take necessary steps. Related campaigns either by public bodies or non profit entities should be duly encouraged by allotting enough corpus. To illustrate this, HIV was highest in 1970’s across the globe. Despite not having an antidote, with safety precautions rigorously advocated by all the political parties in form of hoardings and making the essentials available at cheaper rate and accessible everywhere, the world was able to minimize the virus drastically. Therefore it is conclusively clear that even for the incurable, awareness about its spread and prevention, can reduce the risk of being affected.

Secondly, the people in power could also drill down to the root of the issue and eradicate it at source to minimalize the spread. This is an expensive approach as it requires research and infrastructure for the execution of the potential solution. For example, virus such as dengue and malaria are now restricted to only third world countries as developed nations were able to eradicate it by keeping their surroundings clean and timely maintenance by fogging and pest control enabled the public agencies put a stop to it. Thus it is possible to state that cutting it at the source by various techniques at large scale is one way to cure it.

In conclusion, although there are vaccines and solutions for many diseases and ailments, prevention is the only option for the rest of them. To ensure it is carried out extensively, government should advertise and deploy necessary equipment to curb it.