The people’s opinions on a definitive resolution to the chronic problem of crime never seem to find common ground. Although prisons have been using as a way to fight crime throughout the history of mankind, there are increasing numbers of proponents of the idea that education is a far better solution for all of the evils in the world. Personally, I believe that both approaches have their own merits but prisons always take the leading role.

Incarceration has continually been proven to be the most wide – accepted method in the war on crime for its punitive and deterrent purposes. Generally speaking, if crime goes unpunished, societies fall into chaos. So that criminal justice ensures to pass appropriate sentences according to the degree of severity of the crime committed. And among other barbaric sentences namely electrocution, lethal injection or firing squad,...Which have been pushed to an end due to their cruelty, imprisonment appears to be the most lenient one in a civilized world in which atrocity is avoided as much as possible. Safe(secure.) in the knowledge that offenders regardless of capital or minor have been held in prison cells, citizens can enjoy their lives and focus on work. What is more, Life in prison condemns an offender to unfreedom, social isolation and limited entertainment. Indeed, just by thinking about these severe consequences that an offence leads to would deter any individuals who want to resort to crime for personal matters. However, people also claim that education could erase the root cause of crime.

In fact, despite being born with a vague notion of the distinction between good and evil, a man’s nature is largely being conditioned towards goodness through moral lessons inculcated to the mind by teachers throughout his development. Nevertheless, most criminals are victims of circumstances. Specifically, an addict has to turn to mug in order to support his drug habit or people who live under the poverty line have no choice but to resort to crime to provide for themselves and their loved one. These cases show that school teachings have no impact on preventing these violations of law from happening in the first place. Consequently, these individuals have to pay for what they have done in court.

In conclusion, to assert that education outweighs prison is one-sided and the role of prisons in cutting crime would be irreplaceable.