Question - With recent developments in technology like e-books, some people feel that printed media like books, newspapers and magazines will soon be a thing of the past. Others feel that these form of media will never disappear. What is your opinion?

Opinions are divided on whether paper-based media will continue to be used by people, or whether it will be completely replaced by current trend of digital books.

In my opinion, I agree that cutting-edge technology like e-books will replace conventional printed media because e-books are effortlessly available and also an inexpensive option.

Firstly, a good reason why many people are leaning towards e-books is the obvious fact that they are easily accessible on mobile gadgets like phones, tablets and laptops. Sourcing printed books from an international seller often involves an unreasonable shipping time. Owing to the fast paced life, readers have lost patience to buy printed books, and in contrast are switching to electronic versions that are instantly available to read from the moment the purchase is completed. Consequently, paper-based materials will get replaced by digital books.

Another point to consider is that the price of e-books is lower compared to paper-based media. Traditional printed material is manufactured using expensive papers, inks and printing machines, whereas e-books are produced by merely converting the digital file of a book into a suitable format and publishing them on a seller's site. Recent research concluded that the expenses of an average household in the United Kingdom could be reduced by up to ten percent by choosing electronic versions of newspapers and magazines over printed ones. Since a majority of customers in general are budget conscious, they would prefer cheaper e-books over printed books. Eventually, companies will stop printing books and magazines and produce them only in digital format.

To conclude, printed media will disappear in the blink of an eye and e-books will be used all over because they are instantly available and most importantly are incredibly cost-efficient to customers.