Question: Today people can work anywhere they want because of the improvement in communication technology & transport. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the latest development in technology and transportation allows people to live and work in a wider range of location. Although there are some major drawbacks, I believe that these are outweighed by the benefits.

There are two major disadvantages associated with this trend. Working from home is believed by some people to reduce the collaboration between colleagues. The highly dependent on the Internet, to a certain extent, may pose as many threats as the benefits it could bring. For instance, if there is a problem with the connection, office employees can still have face-to-face communication to disseminate information; whereas, a remote worker may have no option but to wait, an action which could make him miss the deadline. Another shortcoming of working from home could be the energy waste it may produce. There has been a considerably common mindset that the electricity bill in your house may increase if you choose to be a freelancer at home.

Notwithstanding all the above disadvantages, my firm conviction is that the benefits are more significant. Doing the job at home save us an incredible amount of time commuting to and from the office. On average, in Ho Chi Minh City, for instance, it could take up 1.5 hours a day for a person to get to work. With the possibility of remote working and virtual offices, the waste time could be spent on something more meaningful in life such as families and friends. Moreover, working from home also helps mitigate the housing problem in big cities. When people don’t have to be present at the office everyday, it is highly likely that they will choose to settle in the rural area where the real estate’s value is not as extortionate as the city center’s. As a result, there will be less pollution and traffic congestion in the city.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of this trend are more significant than the disadvantages. It is expected that companies and goverments across the world will employ this advanced working from home model in the near future.