In recent years many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons from your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Shopping pattern over the last few years have significantly changed as customers prefer to visit large shopping malls and shopping centers owing to this small local shops are closing down. This is a favorable development from customer’s point of view but has negative impacts on local shopkeeper and small traders.

On one hand, large size shopping centers and malls such as IMT’s and LMT’s provide complete peace of mind to its customers as it offers all sort of facilities under one roof. For instance, grocery, pharmacy, branded and unbranded clothing, shoes, electronic accessories, jewelry, toys, makeup, parlors and whatnot are available in a huge shopping mall. Additionally, it is an excellent spot for recreational activities as often people go there to enjoy good food in the Food Court area or the children’s enjoying indoor playing areas, or people watching movies in cinemas during weekend. Moreover, it offers security and parking facilities that draws even more people to visit malls and shopping centers.

On the contrary, mushroom growth of such large-scale projects is threatening and impacts negatively on local traders and shop owners. Due to the fierce competition local shops are unable to compete with large malls and shopping centers and therefore, it is becoming difficult for them to conduct a business and earn a decent living. Unemployment and inflation is on the rise due to shut-down of majority of local shops and traders observe increasingly low foot-fall of customers. Low turnout of customers and high cost of business operation is fetching losses to these local shopkeepers further pushing them towards abject poverty.

In conclusion, multi-scale malls and shopping centers are a good indicator of country’s economic and overall development and it provided employment to huge number of people but the on the other hand, it is phasing-out local shops and traders. Government can chalk out proper legislation to support local business by creating specific markets for local shops and businesses only. This is important to create economic equilibrium.