Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Online shopping for purchasing books, tickets, groceries and clothing etcetera is becoming immensely famous among people. In my opinion, I believe such an effective use of technology is largely helpful as well as cost-effective. However, there are few downsides to it such as identity theft, cyber security and product quality related issues.

Online shopping worldwide is becoming more and more acceptable and people are buying online to save time, energy, and money. Online shopping offers several benefits firstly, by saving important time as it does not need a shopper to physically visit a market or a shopping mall and a person can order online from plethora of online options available. Secondly, it saves energy from travelling to one mall to another shop and back and forth also, it saves hassle of locating a suitable parking place for one’s vehicle. Thirdly, majority of brands offer exclusive online discounts or sales coupons that are not available at their physical stores. For instance, when Gul Ahmed Ideas a large apparel manufacturer, introduced its online stores with 40% flat discounts on online shopping, their inventory sold off within few hours. Moreover, Shopping is not only limited to household items or clothing but people are massively shopping for food online. For instance, popular food apps like Food Panda and EatOye, are estimated to have 10 million user alone in Pakistan.

On the contrary, there are some drawbacks of excessive online shopping. It has been reported previously that, few people have been scammed online as they paid for something and received something. Another example is, identity theft where a person’s credit card or debit card credentials have been stolen by hacker’s leaving a person deprived of his/her hard-earned money. But these issues can be overcome as with the employment of advanced online cyber security tools and encryption services.

In conclusion, I believe advantages of shopping online are far greater than the disadvantages. Security related issues can be solved but benefits such as peace of mind, cost saving, and energy are all what a person living in 21st century needs.