In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent.

Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, large number of countries are facing phenomenal hike in crimes and the nature of such crimes is becoming notoriously ferocious. There are number of reasons that contribute to this and can be curtailed, if carefully strategized.

First of all, poverty, illiteracy, and hunger contribute a major role in alleviating criminal instincts in people. They start with stealing and with the passage of time they become more notorious and attempt aggressive crimes such as heist, gun-point snatching, kidnapping for ransom and murder. For instance, In Pakistan alone 46% of population is illiterate or has no basic schooling. Another reason is the unfair treatment and scarcity of jobs these days. A father of five killed his children and wife and later killed himself because he was jobless for last few months. Educated individuals in Pakistan and other countries are opting to join terrorist organizations where they are being paid generously. In-return they commit heinous crimes against humanity. Saad Siddiqui a graduate from a reputed business school killed 18 people in a bus attack in Karachi.

These crimes can only be curtailed through proper legislations and concrete efforts. Governments should concentrate on providing basic necessities of life. Education can be the first line of defense inorder to eradicate petty crimes. Religious literature should be proof-read and verified before distribution. Entrepreneurship should be promoted among youth and easy loan facilities made available to vibrant youth. Rehabilitation centers to be built where prisoners are taught vocational skills to earn living after sentencing. Provision of jobs is the state responsibility so more jobs can be created to place jobless people.

In conclusion, it is important to take preëmptive measures before someone commits a crime. Provision of basic necessities such as food, shelter and clothing is the responsibility of state. To eradicate crimes education should be compulsory for every citizen.