In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The concept of "old age home" or "the retirement home" is becoming common these days in Britain. Elderly people such as parents are usually sent to nursing homes under professional nurses supervision when they turn old and weak. Often, the government has to pay for this facility. In my opinion I believe that children are responsible for their parents in the same way, they were responsible to them, during their child years.

Firstly, Parents are parents, and they should be respected and treated equally. However, in todays hustle and busy lives, where everybody works round the clock to meet both ends, it is becoming impossible to take care of elderly people. Children send their parents to nursing homes to make sure they are being treated well, taken care of and are properly fed. Therefore, it is the guardians responsibility to provide proper care to their parents and should pay for all their relevant expenses if affordability allows it. For instance, in North Carolina, an old couple was thrown-out of the nursing care due to non-payment for several months. They were later taken into government custody and were admitted to public nursing home.

Secondly, there is a huge price difference between public and private run nursing homes and the quality of care equal. For instance, In UK per month cost in public nursing home is 400 pounds whereas, private facilities charge an exuberant price as high as 800-1500 pounds a month. Such high cost is definitely not affordable to the majority of people. Government should pass a resolution to shut-down all private nursing homes and develop more old age homes to cater rising demand.

To sum it up, children should take responsibility of their elders. If they are unable to provide them proper care at home they can admit them in a good nursing home provided they pay for all expenses. On the other hand, government is responsible to offer quality nursing homes for elderly people on affordable rates.