Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, large numbers of people are opting to travel both domestically and internationally than ever before. Massive globalization, tourism and business opportunities are the few reasons. Travelers are undoubtedly, reaping great benefits through travelling.

Firstly, travelling has become a great economic activity for airlines, travel agents, countries and travelers itself. One such example is lucrative discounts being offered by the airlines. This attracts a large number of tourists to visit that particular city or country. For instance, I have traveled to Dubai last year on a business class after getting 50% discount on my airfare, through my travel agent. I saved that money used it for shopping and eat out with my friends in Dubai. Additionally, I have earned air miles/ rewards travelling through business class and these can be used whenever I decide to travel next time.

Secondly, travelling has become a great source of learning regarding different cultures, languages and cuisines. Travelling makes one bold, confident, and intellectual. I have learned about Chinese language, Arabic culture and Japanese cuisine during my travels to these countries.

Thirdly, travelling is the key to strategic business networking and partnerships. People from one part of the world to other part travel in search of meeting prospectus clients and to showcase their products and services. For instance, my company has participated in Textile Exhibition in Germany and secured a large order for towels and bathrobes.

In conclusion, travelling is a great source of learning and grooming oneself. It teaches about different regions, cultures and languages. Travelling helps in boosting economic activities which helps in eradicating poverty in tourism dependent countries.