There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Last few decades have witnessed mushroom growth in the number of people enrolling and studying at different universities. Some people believe that this shows increased level of general education within the community, hence positive development. However, others are concerned that this is decreasing the overall quality of education. Below essay will expound on possible advantages and disadvantages.

Literacy rate is the most important indicator of knowing a country's socioeconomic conditions and overall national outlook. Therefore, countries around the world emphasize more and more on education. Owing to competition in the job market, more and more companies are now demanding candidates with higher academic qualifications. For instance, Sri Lanka has 98% of literacy rate and every 4 out of 5 people hold a university degree in different disciplines. Data shows that, developing countries with higher literacy rate performs better and have improved GDP. Secondly, University environment is different from college or school. It gives an individual dozen of options to study and hundreds of fields to pursue as career. Additionally, in recent 08 years around 53 public universities have been built in Pakistan to cater growing demand which clearly shows people are considering education an important factor to excel in their careers as well as lives.

On the flip side, there are some but major drawbacks that could jeopardize the economic outlook. Since the demand is threefold and supply is limited people with business mindset and lot of investment are now building universities for minting money. This is turning education system into commercial industry. For instance, Few business schools in UK have minted money from international students charging high fees but providing below par quality of education. This has drastically affected UK's education quality because not even a single research paper was produced by these commercial universities. Additionally, UK government took stern actions and closed these institutes.

To recapitulate it, number of highly educated people plays a pivotal role in country's economic growth and universities act as a launch pad for their skills. There need to be more universities to cater growing number of demand and more courses should be introduced. However, stringent policies should be devised to check and evaluate performance of all universities.