Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Few people think that children should be encouraged by their guardians to participate in planned group activities during leisure time. Some people say that it is vital for children to understand different ways to engage themselves at their own. In the following essay I will shed light on both views and will present my opinion.

On one hand few people believe that, organized group activities during leisure hours or vacations are supposed to be beneficial for growing children. It helps them grow mentally, physically and prepares them to tackle challenges with confidence in later years. Children often feel lethargic and tired after school and are more drawn towards unhealthy activities such as watching TV or playing video games that have negative impact on their young minds. Therefore, it is very important that parents encourage them to participate in group activities such as sports or reading. These group activities include group competitions among young children such as book reading, rugby, mathematics contest, general knowledge quiz, farm trip, and different other extra-curricular activities. For instance, a recent research by Calgary University shows that 90% of candidates who have participated in extra-curricular and organized group activities during school years are more successful in their professional and academic careers as compared to those who never participated.

On the other hand, self-learning of new skills during leisure time has its own importance as few people believe that children’s process of thinking is far greater than an adult. Therefore, they should learn new skills by experimenting themselves. Additionally, they believe, self-learning boost confidence and unleash true potentials of a child and makes them independent to make their own decisions as compared to those who always seek advice from guardians or parents.

In conclusion, I believe the group learning during leisure time is more beneficial as it boost self-confidence, knowledge base, social interaction and morale of a child.