In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

There has been drastic shift in the shopping behaviour of people over the recent past. One such change is that the buyers have started preferring grand shopping malls over the small neighbourhood shops. In my opinion this development is certainly in favour of the consumers even though it has some disadvantages. In this essay we shall discuss both the positive and negative impact of this pattern.

In India, the advent of shopping centres may be dated to a little over 10 years and shopping from them has now become extremely popular due to several factors. Firstly, they provide a better buying experience as they are well conditioned and also play music in the background. Secondly, a range of products are available under one roof so people don’t have to visit multiple shops or outlets to complete their purchasing. Lastly, since these malls are operated by large players in the industry they are in a position to provide competitive prices for the commodities in the market, thereby, helping the customers to save on their budget.

Inspite of having multiple benefits, one of the major concerns that this development brings about is shutting down of numerous small shops which poses threat to the shop keepers who they end up losing their only source of income. Also, for a small percentage of population these local shops were a blessing due to the proximity. I recall from my childhood that my mom would sometimes ask us to go fetch any item that would have been exhausted in the kitchen and that was required immediately. This kind of convenience may not be available with the malls that we see these days.

In the conclusion, the culture of shopping at large shopping centres and malls undoubtedly have both the positives and the negatives but if we see the larger picture, may be this trend is for the betterment of the buyers as it not just offers a satisfying experience but also provides a better bargain.