In recent years, many small local shops have closed because

customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their

shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the current scenario, several small shops have been shutting down as there is a preference for the big shopping complexes over them. In my opinion, I agree that this development is positive as it is beneficial to both society and the government.

There are umpteen reasons why individuals do shopping in the large shopping plazas. Primarily, Shopping malls have a fixed price policy in contrast to the small-scale stores where the shopkeepers may sell goods at a much higher price if the customer is not aware of the actual price. Moreover, the malls offer a guarantee on the goods which small shops may not offer in some cases.

Furthermore, there are multiple stores at one place and customers do not have to travel to different places if they have to buy a variety of products. In other words, the malls have a plethora of shops such as clothes, grocery, food joints, and people can have a better shopping experience, as local shops do not provide multiple things in one place. For example, In Chandigarh's Elante mall, people can enjoy shopping and food in one place. If they feel hungry while buying clothes, they can go to food court.

Another point of significance is that the authorities will be benefitted from this approach. Unlike, local stores, the big branded shops do not avoid taxes, as they provide proper bills, including the tax applied to the things the person buy. In addition, if a large number of people go to the shopping center for purchasing things, they will travel by their cars. When they reach there, they have to park their vehicles at the paid parking spots and this will provide a monetary benefit to the city administration.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned analysis, it is more advantageous if there are more big shopping complexes than small ones.