In recent years, many small shops have closed because customer travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

During the last few years, there has been more demand for centres that have a variety of stores as compared to local shops that are near customers' homes. I believe that this is a negative development due to a couple of reasons that will be elaborated below.

One of the reasons is the number of options confuses and tempts the customer to spend more time and money than the previously stipulated budget. Although patrons have multiple stores within a few meters of each other, they are bombarded with a selection that causes them to not only shell out more as compared to the same shopping done in smaller shops but also waste time. To illustrate, customers are likely to spend less money and time in local general stores as compared to massive supermarkets in malls.

Secondly, as the popularity shifts so do the revenue from the local shopkeepers to large markets which increases competition. This can be a huge downside as some of these shops have been in the area for generations which will have to close down, due to people opting for purchasing their daily supplies. It gets even worse when these supermarkets give discounts that are not feasible to the smaller shops. For example, large supermarkets give discounts due to selling their product in bulk which cannot be challenged by smaller stores thus reducing their business.

To summarise, people choose shopping malls rather than local shops due to selection of various stores and the offers that they provide. This is a negative development, as the companies behind this not only cause local shops to go out of business but also rob customers of their money and time.