Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an undeniable fact that with the advent of sophisticated technologies, communication is becoming more virtual. A recent study shades light on this fact which says that most meetings and discussions are carried out over the internet rather than conference rooms. This trend has both advantages and disadvantages and I shall discuss the same in this essay.

In recent years, many technologies have emerged which provide the privilege to carry out work remotely. The best example for this is the current times of pandemic where Professionals are working, students are studying and entrepreneurs are handling their businesses sitting at home through virtual meet-ups and video conferences. This positive change has not only brought the world closer but also has helped the world to keep moving in gloomy times. Thus, the advantages of the world going online are mammoth.

Having said that, due to this trend the human interaction and in-person communication have decreased tremendously resulting in a lack of understanding the body language and hampering emotional intelligence. For instance, the young generation would not be able to develop a bond with fellow students while studying online which could have been plausible during classroom teachings. Although human interaction is significant for developing plethora of interpersonal and communication skills, the significance of working remotely cannot be denied as it has kept business-as-usual especially during times such as pandemics where the whole world has gone at standstill.

To conclude, even if face-to-face interaction is pivotal for developing bonds among human beings, it can be developed while interacting with dear ones at home. Thus, the merits of carrying out work and study online outweigh its demerits.