With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Books in the form of e-books are popularising day by day in the library systems. A significant number of people consider this as an optimistic, whereas, others do not. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of this trend will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the positive side, the internet technology has completely revolutionised the public libraries in terms of storage, transportation and accessibility with the help of computers. The transfer of books is not a question anymore for the educational institutions as they can be transferred in the form of e-books, that's the chief advantage. In addition to that, ebooks are mostly available free to access with some exceptions as compare to paper books, which always involve a cost to buy. Furthermore, every public institute has an issue of limited space to hold paper-based literature, which had been a serious concern until the introduction of online books.

On the downside, eye protection is the biggest concern for the readers of computer books. This has been proven reading ebooks for a longer duration can have a negative impact on the eyes of a person. For illustration, during examination time, a student has to study for longer hours, thus studying constantly for longer duration has shown adverse effects on the eyes of the viewer. Therefore, it is advised to take short breaks during reading through online books.

In conclusion, technical advancement has improved the access of books to every part of the world with almost zero cost involvement on the other side, it is advised not to read such e-books for a longer duration to save your eye vision.