Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals consider unpaid jobs should be allotted to jailbirds rather than keeping them in prisons. In my opinion, I completely agree, immature criminals should be given a chance of improvement by helping the society in various development tasks as well as educating them right paths in life.

Firstly, prisoners will learn some sort of skills, which latter they can use while working in society. Offenders should be given an opportunity to work for the community in which they can learn some experience. In addition to that, the environment plays a vital role to influence individuals, social workers working with prisoners can also help them to find the right path in life. It has proven that unpaid works by prisoners often motivates them to do some better work in life after finishing their imprisonment time.

Secondly, the environment of prisons creates stressful situations including other individuals of the same category, therefore it is better to allow them to do some volunteer tasks in the society. An atmosphere plays an important role while teaching and guiding paths. Residing with other prisoners will not give any learning to any prisoner, instead, they will teach each other more bad ways to survive. Thus, it is better to provide an opportunity to work. On the records, awareness and spreading knowledge is the right way to recover the prisoner from the criminal mentality and it has shown good outputs while applying in Jammu central jail In India.

In conclusion, holding prisoners inside the cage is no way to teach them the right routes in life. Although, providing chances to support society in various jobs can help them as well as benefit society in many ways. Hence, I believe that offenders should be given some social tasks to perform instead in custody of the jail.